Press Kit for the 2012 Democracy Award

CONTACT: Jane Riley Jacobsen 202-378-9700 (work) 703-801-5376 (mobile) or

Press Releases

"Aung San Suu Kyi to address NED 2012 Democracy Award in U.S. Capitol" (Aug. 28, 2012) :: more

"NED announces press briefing with recipients of 2012 Democracy Award" (Sept. 18, 2012) :: more


Press briefing with 2012 Democracy Award recipients (Sept. 19, 2012) :: more

Advancing Democracy in Burma: New Challenges and Opportunities (Sept. 19, 2012) :: more

2012 Democracy Award (Sept. 20, 2012) :: more

Additional Information

Honoree biographies :: more

Staff Resources 

Brian Joseph is NED's Senior Director for Asia and Global Programs and oversees NED grant support for projects in Burma. He has an in-depth understanding of Burma's democracy movement that is informed by 20 years of direct experience with activists on the ground in Burma and in exile. To contact Brian for interviews or background, please contact Jane Riley Jacobsen at 202-378-9700 or :: more

Fact sheet on NED's Burma program :: more

NED Burma grantees, from the 2011 Annual Report :: more

Democracy Stories: Burma: Revolutionary Media :: video 

The October issue of the Journal of Democracy will feature a set of essays on the recent political opening in Burma by Hkun Htun Oo, head of the Shan Nationalities League for Democracy, Min Ko Naing, chairman of the All Burma Federation of Students Union and a leader of the 1988 prodemocracy protests, Min Zin and Brian Joseph, Larry Diamond, and Mary Callahan. In celebration of the 2012 Democracy Award and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi's visit to the United States, these articles will be available free to the public for a limited time.