2002 NED Democracy Award honors Heroes of Human Rights and Democracy

July 09, 2002
11:00 am - 01:00 pm

At a Capitol Hill ceremony on July 9, 2002, First Lady Laura Bush presented NED’s Annual Democracy Award to four outstanding activists from the Muslim World. Joined by NED Chairman Vin Weber, Undersecretary of State for Global Affairs Paula Dobriansky, and Senators Joseph Biden and Bill Frist, Mrs. Bush paid tribute to the courageous work of these women to promote democracy, human rights and the growth of civil society in their respective countries. The 2002 winners are: Nadjet Bouda (Algeria), Mehrangiz Kar (Iran), Mariam Hussein Mohamed (Somalia), and Muborak Tashpulatova (Uzbekistan).

Read remarks of the honorees

Additional remarks at the award ceremony were given by Carl Gershman, President, NED.

Press Articles

Islamic Voices of Reason, by Claudia Winkler, Weekly Standard, July 16.