Board of Directors of the National Endowment for Democracy Issues Statement of Solidarity With the People of France

At its first meeting of 2015, the Board of Directors of the National Endowment for Democracy (NED) issued a statement of solidarity with the people of France in reaction to the recent terrorist attack in Paris.

“At a moment of great shock and sorrow following the attack on the magazine Charlie Hebdo in Paris, at which cartoonists, journalists and police officers were murdered, the Board of Directors of the National Endowment for Democracy stands in solidarity with the people of France. This deadly attack on one media outlet is an attack on freedom of expression everywhere. Intolerance and violence must not be allowed to silence free speech and thus do violence to democracy itself.”

The Honorable Martin Frost (Chairman)  :: MORE

Polsinelli, Shughart PC

The Honorable Vin Weber (Vice-Chair) :: MORE

Mercury, LLC

Ambassador Robert H. Tuttle (Treasurer)  :: MORE

Carl Gershman (President) :: MORE

Marilyn Carlson Nelson (Secretary)  :: MORE

Carlson Holdings, Inc.

Elliott Abrams  :: MORE

Senior Fellow for Middle Eastern Studies, Council on Foreign Relations

The Honorable Karen Bass

U.S. House of Representatives (D-CA)

John Bohn  :: MORE

GlobalNet Partners, N.A. LLC

James Boland  :: MORE

Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers (BAC)

The Honorable Norm Coleman  :: MORE

American Action Network, American Action Forum

Michele Dunne  :: MORE

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Francis Fukuyama  :: MORE

Stanford University, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI)

Dr. William A. Galston  :: MORE

The Brookings Institution

Barry Jackson  :: MORE

The Lindsey Group and Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck

Ambassador Zalmay Khalilzad  :: MORE

CSIS, Khalilzad Associates

Jayne M. Kurzman  :: MORE

Davidson, Dawson & Clark, LLP

Marne Levine  :: MORE

Vice President, Global Public Policy, Facebook

Ambassador Princeton N. Lyman  :: MORE

Council on Foreign Relations

Will Marshall  :: MORE

Progressive Policy Institute

Azar Nafisi  :: MORE

Johns Hopkins University

Moisés Naím  :: MORE

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Andrew J. Nathan  :: MORE

Columbia University

Fred Redmond  :: MORE

United Steelworkers

Ambassador Stephen Sestanovich  :: MORE

Council on Foreign Relations

Margaret Spellings  :: MORE

President, George W. Bush Presidential Center

Melanne Verveer  :: MORE

Executive Director, Georgetown Institute for Women, Peace and Security

George Weigel  :: MORE

Ethics and Public Policy Center

Robert B. Zoellick  :: MORE