2001 Democracy Service Medal Recipient Bios

John Brademas has served as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Endowment for Democracy since 1993. President Emeritus of New York University, John was NYU’s President from 1981 to 1992. Before coming to New York, he represented South Bend, Indiana, in the U.S. House of Representatives for 22 years – from 1959 to 1981 – the last four as House Majority Whip. In Congress, he was a principal author of major legislation to support schools, colleges, universities, libraries, museums, the arts and humanities. He serves as Chairman of the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities.

Fred Charles Iklé joined the Center for Strategic & International Studies as a Distinguished Scholar in 1988. He was Undersecretary of Defense for Policy in the Reagan Administration and served presidents Nixon and Ford as Director of the U.S. Arms Control and Disarmament Agency. A former Chairman of the Republican National Committee’s Advisory Council on International Security, Fred is the author of several major books, including How Nations Negotiate and Every War Must End.

Richard G. Lugar is the senior U.S. Senator from Indiana and the longest serving Senator in Hoosier history. First elected to the Senate in 1976, Dick has served as Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee and is widely respected as a leading voice both in the Senate and the nation as a whole on all aspects of international affairs. As Chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, he led the most sweeping reform of agricultural policy since the 1930s. The former two-time Mayor of Indianapolis has shattered all statewide U.S. Senate election records.

Stephen J. Solarz served in public office for 24 years, both in the New York State Assembly and in the U.S. House of Representatives. He was elected from Brooklyn’s 13th Congressional District to the House in 1974 and reelected eight times. Steve played a major leadership role on the House Foreign Affairs Committee, where he served as Chairman of the Subcommittees on Asia and Africa. In 1993, he was appointed by President Clinton as Chairman of the Board of the Central Asian American Enterprise Fund.