2001 Democracy Service Medal Presented to John Brademas, Fred Iklé, Richard Lugar, and Stephen Solarz

June 01, 2001 05:30 pm - July 01, 2001 07:00 pm

The National Endowment for Democracy (NED) presented its Democracy Service Medal to John Brademas, Fred Iklé, Richard Lugar and Stephen Solarz in recognition of their nine years of service on the NED Board of Directors, and for their outstanding contributions to the cause of democracy. The presentation took place at a reception held in the Mansfield Room of the U.S. Capitol.

“The Endowment is proud to honor four “small d” democrats who command great respect across the political spectrum. While we honor two Democrats and two Republicans, the commitment and service of these individuals to NED and its mission is a shining example of the good that can be achieved when we work in a spirit of bipartisanship to pursue common goals in the national interest – in this case, the promotion of democracy, freedom and human rights abroad,” said NED President Carl Gershman.

The event was co-chaired by Mitchell E. Daniels, Jr., the new Director of the Office of Management and Budget; Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, President of The George Washington University; and John Whitehead, Chairman of AEA Investors, Inc. and Former Deputy Secretary of State in the Reagan administration.

Presenters included:

  • Evan Bayh, Indiana Senator
  • Lee Hamilton, NED Board Member and former U.S. Representative from Indiana
  • Jon Kyl, Arizona Senator and NED Board Member
  • Morton Abramowitz, veteran diplomat, former head of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, and NED Board Member

“While the internationalist tradition of politicians from Indiana is well known, it should be especially evident on Thursday evening,” said Chairman Brademas commenting on the five Hoosiers who took part in the proceedings (including Daniels who served as Lugar’s Chief of Staff.). “I am proud to have served both a state and an institution that care so much about the world beyond our borders; and I am equally pleased that Indiana will continue to be well represented on the NED Board, even after the departure of Dick Lugar and myself.”